Balance of Power

O preço original era: 12,00 €.O preço atual é: 11,00 €.

Autor: Richard North Patterson
Editora: MacMillan
Ano de edição: 2003
Nº de páginas: 612
Idioma: Inglês
Coleção: –
Especificações: Assinado pelo autor
Livro de Bolso: não
Encadernação: capa dura
Estado: 5/5

Método de Pagamento Método de Pagamento Método de Pagamento Método de Pagamento


Balance of Power

Five months into his term in office, President Kilcannon and his fiancee have decided to marry. The day of the ceremony the nation is plunged into mourning following a massacre of innocents in a lethal burst of gunfire. Kilcannon vows to curb gun crime but the cost to him and his wife is going to be high.

Writing career
Patterson studied fiction writing with Jesse Hill Ford at the University of Alabama at Birmingham; his first short story was published in the Atlantic Monthly; and his first novel, The Lasko Tangent, won an Edgar Allan Poe Award in 1979. Between 1981 and 1985, he published The Outside Man, Escape the Night, and Private Screening, which made the New York Times bestseller list in 1994. His first novel in eight years, Degree of Guilt (1993), and Eyes of A Child (1995), were combined into a four-hour TV mini-series by NBC TV, called Degree of Guilt. Both were international bestsellers, and Degree of Guilt was awarded the French Grand Prix de Littérature Policière in 1995. The Final Judgment (1995), Silent Witness (1997), No Safe Place (1998), and Dark Lady (1999) all became immediate international bestsellers, and in 2011 Silent Witness became a feature film on TNT. Protect and Defend (2000), about the controversial nomination of the first woman to be Chief Justice, and her entanglement in an incendiary lawsuit regarding late-term abortion and parental consent, was a #1 New York Times bestseller and received a Maggie Award from Planned Parenthood for its treatment of issues regarding reproductive rights. In 2013, the London Guardian Literary Review named No Safe Place one of the 10 best works of fiction, nonfiction, or biography inspired by John F. Kennedy and the Kennedy assassination in the 50 years since his death.

Balance of Power (2003) confronted one of America’s most divisive issues—gun violence—and was chosen by USA Today as its book of the month selection for November. Conviction (2005) focused on the law and politics of capital punishment. Exile (2007) dealt with the Israeli-Palestinian conflict and was nominated for South Africa’s leading literary award. The Race (2007) concerned a dramatic campaign for president, and Eclipse (2009) dealt with human rights, Africa, and the geopolitics of oil. The Spire (2009) was a novel of psychological suspense, and In the Name of Honor (2010) portrays a military court martial for murder, and a legal defense based on PTSD. The Devil’s Light (2011) is an exhaustively researched depiction of the world of espionage and the potential for nuclear terrorism, focused on an Al Qaeda plot to steal a nuclear bomb from Pakistan in order to destroy a major western city.

Patterson’s twentieth novel, Fall From Grace (2012), a family drama set on Martha’s Vineyard, became his sixteenth New York Times bestseller. Its prequel, Loss of Innocence (2013), is a coming-of-age novel set in the tumultuous year of 1968. Its sequel, Eden In Winter (2014), concluded the trilogy. His first novel in nine years, ‘Trial’, will be published in June 2023.

Between September 2015 and May 2021, Patterson devoted his time to political commentary. During the 2015-2016 presidential campaign, Patterson was a contributing opinion writer for the Huffington Post, with a focus on politics and international affairs, as well as a guest commentator on television and podcasts. His book about that campaign, ‘Fever Swamp’, was published in January 2017. Between 2017 and 2019, he was a columnist for the Boston Globe and HuffPost. Between March 2019 and May 2021, he was a columnist for The Bulwark, writing longer essays on politics, law, public policy and geopolitics.

Contacte-nos aqui
Siga-nos: Facebook / Instagram